Doris A. Evans, M.D. was named the Executive Director of The First Tee of Cleveland (TFTC) in 2004. Dr. Evans worked collaboratively with a talented Board of Directors and staff of TFTC to raise the funds for and oversee completion of the capital projects. Concomitantly, chapter programming was strengthened, gaining national recognition and serving as a model for The First Tee network. Doris Evans retired as Executive Director on June 30, 2010.

Dr. Evans is still an active supporter and ambassador of The First Tee of Cleveland, and we are proud to present an annual merit scholarship to a participant in her honor. The funds will be directly sent to the college of choice in the name of the applicant, upon acceptance to a college and notification to the office at The First Tee of Cleveland.

New in 2017!  The Merit Scholarship is currently a multi-year post-secondary school scholarship for qualifying students.

Guidelines and Application Process:

The college scholarship will be awarded based on exemplary achievement by a young person currently involved in The First Tee of Cleveland program in the areas of academic achievement, chapter involvement, essay responses and letter of recommendation. The selection committee will comprise of Dr. Evans, board members, and community leaders.

2018 Eligibility – For participants of The First Tee to be nominated for the Doris A. Evans, M.D., Merit Scholarship Award they must meet all of the following requirements:

  • Classified as a high school junior or senior as of the fall 2018
  • Enrolled at the Birdie level or above
  • Have a minimum cumulative GPA of 3.25 as of end of prior school year

Application Process – Applications MUST be submitted to The First Tee of Cleveland, by Friday, September 28, 2018

For any questions, contact Program Director, Brian McFarland at